All is set for municipality elections

All is set for the election of Members of Parliament, municipality directly elected councilors, municipal women councilors and municipal chairpersons countrywide.

Candidates in the seven new municipalities wound up campaigns yesterday ahead of tomorrow’s elections.

The municipalities are Bugiri, Sheema, Nebbi, Buikwe, Kotido, Ibanda and Apac.

One of the notable races is the one for the Bugiri parliamentary seat that has pit Justice Forum’s Asuman Basalirwa against FDC’s Eunice Namatende and NRM’s Francis Okecho.

In Njeru Municipality the race has attracted 6 candidates including NRM’s Yasiin Kyazze and FDC’s Amos Kivumbi.

In Sheema the battle is between Science and Technology minister Erioda Tumwesigye and FDC’s Virginia Mugyenyi.

While for Ibanda, some of the candidates are NRM’s Tarsis Rwaburindoore, FDC’s Alex Byaruhanga and Peter Agaba and independent.

However, questions have been raised by the opposition about the timing of president Museveni’s donation of ambulances to the new municipalities just days to polling day.

But the NRM has defended the move saying its only meant ease the handling of emergency cases in these areas.