Chief Justice names anti-graft task force


By Ruth Anderah

The Chief Justice Bart Katureebe has named a six-member committee to investigate corruption allegations within the judiciary.

The committee headed by the Inspector of Courts Immaculate Busingye has up to September this year to handover a detailed report to the chief justice.

Other members on the committee are; the Judiciary spoke’s person Vincent Mugabo, the registrar in-charge of magistrates’ affairs Susan Abinyo, Uganda Judicial Officers’ Association president Godfrey Kaweesa, the registrar attached to office of the chief Registrar Ayebare Tumwebaze and the institution’s communication specialist Solomon Muyita.

The committee will have an interface with particular judicial officers on whom corruption allegations have been made as well as media which usually carries corruption stories.