MPs defer debate

The approval of Members of Parliament to represent Uganda at the Pan African Parliament was this afternoon deferred after some MPs disagreed on the names proposed.

Parliament was expected to approve the  representatives today but some of the legislators, especially from the opposition, rejected the NRM’s choices since they exceeded the 3 names expected from them.

Opposition MPs, Odonga Otto and Dr. Francis Epetait rejected NRM’s choice of Kiruhura Woman MP, Beatrice Barumba Rusaniya, saying she had failed to make a mark in the 8th Parliament.

The two MPs were backed by NRM’s Barnabas Tinkasimiire, who said representation to the continental Parliament required someone with knowledge and experience, adding that Rusaniya had not been recognized as a consistent contributor to House debate.

The Prime Minister, Amama Mbabazi then asked that the NRM side to go back, generate consensus and review the names of its candidates before the House can approve them.

The Speaker of Parliament, Rebecca Kadaga thereafter deferred the debate.

 The NRM candidates include Onyango Kakooba, Sarah Kataike Ndobooli, Beatrice Rusaniya and Abraham Lokii while the independents are represented by Samuel Amooti Otaada and then Cecilia Atim Ogwal for the opposition.

Story by Olive Eyotaru