Opposition to name leaders tomorrow

The election of a new Chief Whip and Leader of opposition in Parliament has been pushed to tomorrow.

 Forum for democratic change leader Dr Kiiza Besigye was expected to name a team of leaders who will head the opposition in the 9th parliament today, but the outgoing chief whip says more consultations are still being carried out.

Hon. Kasiano Wadri says there are a number of issues that must be resolved before a final list is named.

The position of the leader of opposition fell vacant after Prof. Ogenga Latigo who led the team in the 8th Parliament lost his seat as Agago county MP.

Those in the race for the leader of the opposition include Terego county MP Kassiano Wadri, Dokolo representative Cecilia Ogwal, Bugweri county MP Abdu Katuntu, Serere woman MP Alice Alaso and Patrick Amuriat  among others.

Story by Ben Jumbe