Kitende oust Kibuli to book date with Masaka in semis

Yesterday’s results
Rock High 0-2 Bulo
Yale High 0 (4)–0(2) Standard
Masaka 2-0 Nakaseke
Kitende 2-0 Kibuli
Today (semis)
Bulo Parents v Yale High (2pm)
Kitende v Masaka (4pm)

Eddie Mubiru scored two thunderous goals as St Mary’s Kitende eliminated fellow giants Kibuli at the quarterfinal stage of the Copa Coca-Cola Championship here yesterday.

The Kitende skipper opened the scoring two minutes into the game with a long range shot that weaved through a stranded Kibuli defence to send hundreds of passionate fans into frenzy.

Mubiru, who is featuring in the tournament for the last time, then curled a free kick into the net on 19 minutes to extend Kitende’s lead and take his tally to three in the event. That would be the winning goal as Kibuli, losing finalists last year, provided little threat and lacked creativity for the rest of the game.

Important goals
“Those were wonderful and crucial goals,” Kitende head coach Joseph Kasana said after the game while praising his skipper.
“After beating Kibuli, I am now confident that we are taking the trophy,” he added. Eliminated at the quarterfinals in the past two editions, Kitende take on Masaka Secondary School in one of the semi-final encounters today.

Masaka made the last four after eliminating Luwero’s Nakaseke International College with a comfortable 2-0 victory, both goals coming in 10 minutes.

They, however, come into today’s game as underdogs against a Kitende side yet to lose a game and looking superior in every department. The other semifinal is between Mpigi’s Bulo Parents, conquerors of Rock High (Tororo) in the quarterfinals, and Kayunga’s Yale High School.

While Bulo had it easy against Rock High at the penultimate stage, winning 2-0 with goals from Julius Mwangumu and Ivan Yiga, Yale needed post-match penalties to eliminate Wakiso representatives Standard High.

After a stale scoreless stalemate, Yale goalkeeper Mathias Mwanga proved the difference by saving penalties from Standard’s Kasimu Kintu and Joseph Miro. Arafat Kinanywa, Abaasi Kasozi, Moses Bahati and Mark Bamukyaye converted their efforts for Yale to win 4-2.