Nominations for Abiriga replacement close today

By Benjamin Jumbe

The Electoral Commission is today set to nominate more candidates for the Arua Municipality by election.

According to the commission spokesperson Jotham Taremwa, 4 aspirants are expected today including NRM’s Nusura Tiperu.

The commission yesterday successfully nominated 4 candidates to contest in the Arua Municipality by-election.

These were Kassiano Wadri, Francis Nyero, Alfred Nyakuni all independents and Bruce Musema of the Forum for Democratic Change.

The Arua Municipality parliamentary seat fell vacant following the assassination of Ibrahim Abiriga on June 8th.

The by election is set for August 15th.