President Museveni shakes justice system

Case back log in higher courts may soon be a thing of the past after President Yoweri Museveni appointed new justices.

The appointed justices of the Supreme Court are Augustine Nshimye, Faith Mwondha, Opio Aweri, Eldad Mwangusya and Lillian Tibatemwa – Ekirikubinza, all of whom have been moved from Court of Appeal.

Justice Alphose Owiny Dollo who has been handling the11th July 2010 bomb suspects case is also appointed Justice of the Appeals Court.

Others appointed to the Court of Appeal are Elizabeth Musoke, Paul Mugamba who has been heading the High Court Anti-Corruption Division, Simon Byabakama, Catherine Bamugemereire, Cheborion Barishaki and Hellen nObura.

The names have now been forwarded to parliament for approval.