5 Ugandan MPs Sworn In At PAP

Five Ugandan legislators have been sworn in as new Members of the Pan African Parliament.

The Members took oath today during the Third Ordinary Session of the Fourth Parliament sitting at Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt.

These are Jacqueline Amongin; Prof. Ogenga Latigo , Hanifa Bangirana Kawooya, Felix Okot Ogong and Babirye Kadogo .

Other MPs sworn in were from Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Niger, Mauritania and Zambia.

In his welcome remarks to the new and returning Members, the President of the continental parliament Roger Nkodo Dang, reiterated calls for Member states to sign and ratify the Malabo Protocol.

The 2014 Malabo Protocol was adopted by the African Union and extends the jurisdiction of the yet-to-be established African Court of Justice and Human Rights (ACJHR) to crimes under international law and transnational crimes.

 The Pan African Parliament is one of the organs of the African Union and comprises five members from each of the 54 African Parliaments. Established in March 2004, the legislature has its headquarters in Midrand, South Africa.

Story By Ali Mivule